Just When I Thought I Couldn’t Run Slower…

Today I had my best run ever! And it was because I ran slower than even I thought was possible.

I thought I was already going as slow as I (or anyone) could. I tried to heed the advice of maintaining a conversational pace on longer runs to build endurance. And yet I would still get winded and tired. After 3 years of running, I continued to have a difficult time completing even a full mile without interspersing walking. In frustration, I consulted physicians who ran tests to clear my asthma of blame, to check my lungs and my hearts for anomalies. All came back clear (thank goodness). So, sadly, I had just decided that I needed to come to terms with the fact that my endurance would always be poor. (I don’t mind being slow, but I would like to build endurance).

And then, on Wednesday, the breakthrough! My husband decided to honor his commitment to run the New Year’s Resolution 5K with me in spite of being ill. He hoped it would shake out a few cobwebs. Unfortunately, his body did not cooperate, so he shuffled along walking as I shuffle-ran beside him (slow jogging, almost prancercising if you must label it!). But, somewhere around mile 2, I realized that the urge to see how much longer I could keep running was much greater than the urge to walk. So I kept going ….right to the finish line! My first 5K ever without walk breaks!

Today, during my long run, I decided to see if this had just been a fluke. I committed to shuffle-jogging a minimum of 3 miles out of a scheduled 8 mile run. And I made it to 7 with stops only for lights and a brief rest half-way through! 7 miles of essentially continuous running! Unthought of just a week ago!

So ….longer running through slower running which will hopefully lead to faster running……I’m not sure where this will go…. but I’ve decided to run with it!

Hope 2014 brings breakthroughs, epiphanies and PRs to all!

Love this post from Slow Is The New Fast

Happy running! Marji

20140104-220226.jpg

About Hand Therapy Blog

I am an Occupational Therapist and a Certified Hand Therapist with more than 20 years experience specializing in the treatment of hand and upper extremity injuries.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment